Assisted Living Licenses

Assisted living communities in Florida are regulated by AHCA (Agency for Health Care Administration) and they all need a minimum of a standard license to operate.

Assisted living communities are designed to provide personal care services in the least restrictive and most home-like environment.

They vary in sizes from one resident to several hundred. They can also provide a variety of services depending on their license.

Yes, there is more than one type of license for an assisted living community and we at Assisted Living Made Simple know which community holds what type of license.

The 4 Different Types of Assisted Living Licenses

So, what are the different licenses for assisted living?

There are four types of licensure for assisted living communities. I’ll try to explain them to you below.

1. Standard license

A standard license is the license every assisted living community must have. It allows the community basic assistance with dressing, transfers, feeding, grooming, bathing, toileting, medication management and administration.

Home health care can offer physical therapy, occupational therapy and speech therapy, but it MUST be ordered through your doctor.

2. LNS license

LNS license is a limited nursing services license. It allows residents to receive licensed nursing assistance.

These services include conducting range of motion exercises, applying ice caps and heating pads, performing eye and ear irrigations, performing or replacing catheters, applying or changing dressings that do not require packing or irrigation and caring for Stage II pressure sores. Also included is everything in the standard license.

3. ECC license

ECC is an extended congregate care license and it means a community can provide everything under a standard and an LNS license and also nursing services provided within the scope of their license.

Residents requiring an ECC license may have higher impairment levels than those living in a standard ALF. A community with this type of license allows for the resident to age in place in a residential environment despite mental or physical declination. This creates a higher care level in assisted living.

4. LMH license

LMH license is a licensed mental health license. This license is issued to communities with three or more residents who have mental health issues. The administrator and staff have specialized training in order to be in direct contact with mental health patients.

As you can see, communities can vary in licensure types and how do you know which one is right for you?

Well, that’s why you need an expert. Please don’t go down this road alone; that’s what we are here for and we do it all for FREE!!

Recommended Posts

No comment yet, add your voice below!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.